Questions? Call us today:302-856-9035

Adult School Celebrates its 51st Graduation Ceremony

photo 4

Pierre Beliard admires his diploma as Cristo Aguilar watches the graduation ceremony.

James H. Groves Adult High School, Sussex Center, graduated 19 students as its 51st annual commencement on August 12th in the Sussex Tech gymnasium. Sussex Technical School District is one of the six out of 19 school districts in the state that supports adult education.

State Director of Adult Education, Maureen Whelan, addressed the crowd and applauded the students for their achievement while overcoming many obstacles.

On hand to congratulate the graduates were Sussex Tech Board Members George Torbert and John Oliver, District Superintendent Dr. A. J. Lathbury, Director of Extended Learning, Dr. Mike Owens, Representative David Wilson and Representative Harvey Kenton.


photo 1

Student Speaker Deja Kellam shares her story of determination with the crowd.

The audience applauded student speakers Hannah Glass and Deja Kellam as both gave inspiring messages of perseverance and determination. Kristin Lee received the Distinguished Staff Award. Mrs. Lee was recognized for being a positive, encouraging and creative teacher who goes above and beyond for her students.

photo 2

Teacher Kristin Lee encourages the graduates after receiving the Distinguished Staff Award.

Before the conferring of diplomas, Dr. Owens awarded several scholarships as follows: Bethany Hutchins of Seaford received the OAASIS scholarship; Hannah Glass of Bridgeville was awarded the Ethel Cook Memorial Scholarship; two scholarships were awarded by the Sussex Tech Adult Division to Isdis Marquez of Seaford and Deja Kellam of Laurel; the Principal’s Scholarship went to Amber Wheatley of Seaford; and Cody Vazquez of Bridgeville was the recipient of the Reverend David Mulford Memorial Scholarship.

Coordinator Bob Powell presents the Ethel Cook Memorial Scholarship to Hannah Glass as Dr. Mike Owens, Director of Extended Learning, looks on.

Congratulations to the 2015 Groves graduates:

Cristo Aguilar (Milford)
Pierre Beliard (Seaford)
Melva Cifuentes-Chilel (Georgetown)
David Cromedy, Jr. (Seaford)
Azucena Estrada de Benitez (Frankford)
Peyton Farrall (Lewes)
Hannah Glass (Bridgeville)
Bethany Hutchins (Seaford)
Hannah Irvin (Seaford)
Deja Kellam (Laurel)
Amanda Kelley (Georgetown)
Isdis Marquez (Seaford)
Madeline McGrath (Millville)
Alicia Osorio (Laurel)
Kara Rogers (Milton)
Alexandar Sandoval (Lincoln)
Alverta Tucker (Georgetown)
Cody Vazquez (Bridgeville)
Amber Wheatley (Seaford)



Share this Post

Translate »